(Not So Little) Controversy on the Prairie

June 26, 2018 admin 0

The Association for Library Service to Children, a division of the American Library Association, has voted to remove author Laura Ingalls Wilder’s name from the award the previously carried it. The award will now be known as the Children’s Literature Legacy Award, though it was established in 1954 as the Laura Ingalls Wilder Award. From NPR: Wilder, who wrote the Little House book series, was the first recipient of the award, which was established in […]

Shortlists Announced for Seven BC Literary Awards

March 12, 2018 admin 0

The shortlists for the seven distinct literary prizes that make up the BC Book Prizes were announced today, delivering the names of the finalists vying for recognition in seven categories at the 34th Annual BC Book Prizes. The BC Book Prizes were established in 1985 to celebrate the achievements of British Columbia writers and publishers. The seven Prizes are presented annually at the Lieutenant Governor’s BC Book Prizes Gala on May 4th at the Pinnacle […]

Man Booker International Prize 2018 Longlist Announced

March 12, 2018 admin 0

The longlist for the 2018 Man Booker International Prize, one of the most prestigious literary awards in the world, has been announced. The 13 novel list represents translated fiction from around the world. “The longlist introduces a wealth of talent, a variety of forms and some writers little known in English before,” said Lisa Appignanesi, chair of the 2018 judges. “It has great writing and translating energy and we hope readers take as much pleasure […]

The 2017 Man Booker Prize Shortlist Announced

September 14, 2017 admin 0

The shortlist for the 2017 Man Booker Prize has been announced. Paul Auster, Emily Fridlund, Mohsin Hamid, Fiona Mozley, George Saunders and Ali Smith were announced as the six shortlisted authors. The Man Booker is the leading English language prize for fiction. The winner will be announced on October 17th in London’s Guildhall, at a dinner that brings together the shortlisted authors and well-known figures from the literary world. The shortlisted authors each receive £2,500 […]

Colson Whitehead Wins National Book Award

November 17, 2016 admin 0

In a less than celebratory moment in America, Colson Whitehead (The Intuitionist, Sag Harbor) has won the National Book Award for his 2016 novel, The Underground Railroad which, in its announcement, the New York Times called “a hallucinatory novel about the horrors of American slavery and the sinister permutations of racism.” From the Times: The novel, which became a best-seller and was selected for Oprah Winfrey’s book club, follows a young slave named Cora who […]

No Image

How to Train Your Dragon  Wins
“Fight Against Stupidity”

October 23, 2015 admin 0

Philosophy Now has named Cressida Cowell’s How to Train Your Dragon books as an effective weapon against stupidity. It is the first time the award has been bestowed on an author of books for children. From The Guardian: Given in the past to recipients including Noam Chomsky, Raymond Tallis and Ben Goldacre, the prize was established by the magazine to honour individuals who have made “an outstanding contribution to combating poor reasoning, unexamined assumptions and entrenched […]

James Patterson

James Patterson to Receive NBF Award

September 23, 2015 admin 0

On November 18th, bestselling author and literary activist James Patterson (Along Came A Spider, Women’s Murder Club) will be presented with The National Book Foundation’s 2015 Literarian Award for Outstanding Service to the American Literary Community. From the National Book Foundation: For the past decade, Patterson has been a passionate campaigner to make books and reading a national priority. Patterson has donated millions of dollars in grants and scholarships to encourage Americans to read more […]

2015 Man Booker Shortlist Announced

September 15, 2015 admin 0

In only the second year since the prize has been open to writers of any nationality, the Man Booker shortlist, 2015, includes authors from the United States, Jamaica and Nigeria, as well as the United Kingdom. The judges remarked on the variety of writing styles, cultural heritage and literary backgrounds of the writers on the shortlist, which includes new authors alongside established names. The 2015 Man Booker Prize will be awarded on October 13th at […]