2024 International Booker Prize Shortlist Announced

April 13, 2024 News Editor 0

The 2024 shortlist for the International Booker Prize was announced last week, introducing us to six books from around the globe that have been translated into English and published in the UK and/or Ireland. The prize recognizes the vital work of translators with the £50,000 prize money divided equally: £25,000 (about $31,000 US) for the author and £25,000 for the translator (or divided equally between multiple translators). In addition, there is a prize of £5,000 […]

Aussie Women in the Spotlight

August 1, 2021 J. Kingston Pierce 0

First came the finalists for this year’s Ned Kelly Awards. Now we have what’s being billed as the “rather long shortlist” of contenders for the 2021 Davitt Awards, organized by Sisters in Crime Australia and intended to recognize to “the best crime and mystery books by Australian women.” The Davitt Awards take their name from Ellen Davitt (1812-1879), Australia’s first crime novelist. From a total of 127 books in contention, 25—including a dozen debut novels—have […]

The Future of Hollywood Success in the Hands of the Writers of the Future

January 1, 2020 admin 0

People crave to be transported out of the mundane world into a place that is new and wondrous, and that is what speculative fiction does best.” — David Farland With seven out of the top ten grossing movies of all time being science fiction and fantasy, it’s no wonder that Hollywood’s future is seen to reside with the writers of science fiction and fantasy, or more specifically the winners of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers […]

2019 Energy Person of the Year: The Climate Warriors

December 3, 2019 admin 0

  The spirit of resistance … is so valuable on certain occasions, that I wish it to be always kept alive. It will often be exercised when wrong, but better so than not to be exercised at all.” — Thomas Jefferson Each year, the American Energy Society selects the people, publications and media that did the most to influence energy and the environment in that calendar year. The Climate Warriors are the 2019 winners of this […]

Author and Feminist Icon Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie Honored

November 22, 2019 admin 0

Sometimes it can feel very lonely trying to prove that sexism exists, that we haven’t achieved basic equality for women around the world. Tonight is an oomph that shows me that it truly matters.” — Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie     Bestselling Nigerian author and feminist icon Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie was honored this week in New York City at the annual “Make Equality a Reality” gala, hosted by international women’s rights organization Equality Now. Each year, […]

Willie Morris Award for Southern Literature

October 24, 2019 admin 0

The Willie Morris Awards for Southern fiction have been awarded. Tiffany Quay Tyson was honored for her novel The Past Is Never (Skyhorse Publishing) and Melissa Cannon for her poem, “The Mercury Poises on the Pinnacle of Nashville’s Bygone Union Station.” Both authors were honored at a ceremony at the New York Yacht Club, where they were respectively awarded $10,000 and $2,500. Since its inception in 2008, the Willie Morris Award for Southern Fiction, founded […]

The 2018 Willie Morris Award for Southern Fiction Shortlist Announced

August 10, 2019 admin 0

The Willie Morris Award for Southern Fiction has announced its shortlist. The annual award is given to a writer whose work is set in the South, exemplifies the tenets of Southern literature — quality of prose, originality, and authenticity of setting and characters — and reflects, in the words of its namesake, Willie Morris, “hope for belonging, for belief in a people’s better nature, for steadfastness against all that is hollow or crass or rootless […]

Booker Longlist Announced

July 23, 2019 admin 0

The longest for the 2019 Booker Award have been announced. Competition for the £50,000 international award is high. This year the favorites include The Testament, Margaret Atwood’s sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale; Oyinkan Braithwaite’s brilliant debut, My Sister, The Serial Killer and Salman Rushdie’s beautiful Quichotte. From the Guardian: Most readers will have to wait until September to find out what happens in Margaret Atwood’s sequel to The Handmaid’s Tale, but the Booker judges have […]

Milkman Wins Man Booker

October 16, 2018 admin 0

The 50th Man Booker Prize has been awarded to Anna Burns for the novel Milkman (Faber & Faber). Burns, 56, who was born in Belfast and lives in East Sussex, drew on the experience of Northern Ireland during the Troubles to write Milkman. Her first acclaimed novel, No Bones, was also set in this period. She saw off competition from two British writers, two American writers and one Canadian writer. Set in an unnamed city, […]

Sunburst Award for “Books of the Fantastic”

October 15, 2018 admin 0

Eden Robinson has been awarded the Copper Cylinder Award, a prize given annually for Canadian literature of the fantastic, selected by members of the Sunburst Award Society for books published during the previous year. Additionally, the 2018 Copper Cylinder Young Adult Award is shared by two works, Scion of the Fox by S.M. Beiko published by ECW Press, and Weave A Circle Round by Kari Maaren from Tor Books. Robinson received the prize for Son […]